Research Guides: Japanese Law A-Z: Databases TO Freedom of Info

Databases

Japanese Law Translation Dictionary
Japanese-English legal dictionary based on the Standard bilingual dictionary | 法令用語日英標準対訳辞書, created originally in March 2006, and revised periodically by the Japanese government
JDICT Japanese-English Legal Glossary (UW)
Select "Legal Terms" from the drop-down menu. Compiled in part by students at the University of Washington School of Law.
More Information
Japan Knowledge
This mostly Japanese-language portal Provides access to various Japanese language resources, including:
日本大百科全書 [Nihon dai hyakka zensho], 現代用語の基礎知識 [Gendai yōgo no kihon chishiki], 日本人名大辞典 [Nihon jinmei daijiten], 辞書（和英、英和、日本語） Japanese-English, English Japanese and Japanese Dictionaries], JK Who's Who
English-Language Encyclopedia of Japan

Rikaichamp
Rikaichamp is an addon to the Mozilla Firefox Browser. It allows users to easily search for any text on the web, and any text that can be copied and pasted. It can be installed in Firefox free.
Jisho
"Jisho is a powerful Japanese-English dictionary. It lets you find words, kanji, example sentences and more quickly and easily. "
Jim Breen's WWWJDIC Japanese-English Dictionary Server
Very useful dictionary that includes lookup by on and kun readings, radical, and cut and paste kanji.
goo Dictionary | goo辞書
Various Japanese dictionaries, including Japanese-English and English-Japanese bilingual dictionaries

日本弁護士連合会会員名簿 | Nihon Bengoshi Rengōkai. Kaiin meibo.
Directory of the Japan Bar Association (Nichibenren)
KNX33 .N53 at CLAS (Classified Stacks).
大阪弁護士会会員名簿 | Ōsaka Bengoshikai. Kaiin meibo : Heisei 5-nen 7-gatsu 1-nichi genzai].
Directory of the Osaka Bar Association
KNX35.K56 O84 1993 at REF (Reference).
日本学会事務センター法律関係８学会共通会員名簿 | Nihon Gakkai Jimu Sentā. Hōritsu kankei 8-gakkai kyōtsū kaiin meibo.
Directory of legal scholars
KNX33 .N54 at REF (Reference)

NDL Search
"Searching portal" for National Diet Library (NDL) resources, including books, serials, theses, and other materials

Kōsei Torihiki Iinkai Shinketsushū | 公正取引委員会審決集 | KNX3242.A6 J37 at CLAS (Classified Stacks).
Decisions of the Japan Fair Trade Commission

Family Matters: US Embassy in Japan
U.S. Embassy Information on Japanese Family Law for U.S. residents in Japan