It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
U.S. Administrative Law Research
A guide to finding regulations and administrative decisions issued by federal agencies
Provides advice, techniques, and tips on procedures with federal and state agencies, including adjudication, freedom of information, judicial review, rule-making, standards of review, and related topics.
5 volumes; updated annually. Table of contents
Available on WestlawNext.
Call Number: Reference Area & Reference Office, current edition (JK421 .U57); Classified Stacks, previous editions (JK421 .U57)
Publication Date: Annual
Directory of the federal government. Includes information about agency history (with citations to organic acts) and organization charts.
All editions (1935 to present) available on Govinfo and HeinOnline.
A handy guide that lists major regulatory agencies and administrative and rulemaking laws, types of agency rules and notices published in the Federal Register, a short glossary, links to free and commercial sources for federal regulations and on administrative law, and selected U.S. Supreme Court opinions.
"The Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 is a comprehensive collection designed to make the APA’s history more accessible and understandable. The Collection begins in 1929 with the APA’s first predecessors: bills to regulate administrative procedure that were introduced in Congress but never enacted. The Collection’s coverage expands in 1933, tracking heightened interest in administrative reform following President Roosevelt’s first inauguration and spurred on by the New Deal expansion of the federal administrative apparatus. The Collection includes a comprehensive legislative history of the Walter-Logan Bill of 1940, which Congress approved but President Roosevelt vetoed, as well as later bills that culminated in the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946 (APA)."
Includes interactive timeline.
A portal to federal regulatory information. Contains the semiannual Unified Agenda of Federal Regulatory and Deregulatory Actions (fall 1995 to date), related documents, and links to relevant websites. How to Use the Unified Agenda