Ask Us
Get Help from the Library
The Library is here to help you! We are dedicated to supporting UW Law students with all of their scholarly and educational pursuits. Please contact us regarding any of the services we offer. We are available via chat, email, Zoom, and phone (as outlined below) during the following times:
 |
Click on the chat logo on this page or here to connect with a law librarian! |
 |
Email us at lawref@uw.edu |
 |
Zoom with us using the monitor at the Information Desk in the Library! |
 |
Come see us at the Reference Desk (located next to the Information Desk) during in-person reference hours |
 |
Call us! 206-543-6794 |
 |
Schedule a one-on-one or group consultation with a law librarian using the "Schedule Appointment" button below |
Database Registration and Access
As a UW Law student, you have access to many specialized databases from our library. Some of these databases, such as Westlaw, Lexis, Bloomberg Law and CALI, require you to register with an individual account to access them. UW Law students can find information about registering for their individual accounts to these databases here:
-
Access to restricted databases for UW Law CommunityPassword required to access this page
UW Law Community members please check your email for the password to this restricted page email subject line: UW Law Registration Codes. Otherwise, please contact the library for the password to this restricted page.
For additional registration guidance, check out our Registering for and Using Legal Databases page on our guide, Gallagher Basics: Welcome to Law School!
Need access to the Bluebook online? Email the library (lawref@uw.edu) and ask for a free 90-day trial to the online versions of the 20th and 21st editions of the Bluebook!
Research Guides
Research guides are librarian-curated compilations of resources related to a particular topic or area of law. Beginning a research project by finding a relevant research guide can save you time when figuring out first steps. The Law Library has a robust collection of research guides intended to help you with your research on topics ranging from Washington State legislative history research to immigration law. While these are a good starting point, remember that you can always contact us for help finding and navigating resources! You can find a full listing of our guides here:
A few of our most popular guides include:
-
Bluebook 101 [Gallagher Law Library]Information about The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation.
-
Law School Exams [Gallagher Law Library]Links to archive of UW Law exams, plus links to some other schools' exams and resources on preparing for exams.
-
Using Lexis, Westlaw, & Bloomberg LawProvides information and tutorials on how to use the three primary online legal research services
-
Washington State Legislative HistoryIncludes print sources as well as free and commercial online sources.
-
Gallagher Basics Video SeriesThis series of videos was created to help incoming law students with some of the basics associated with the law and legal research.
-
Study Aids for Law Students [Gallagher Law Library]Books and other materials related to law school classes and law school success.
Virtual Suggestion Box
Our virtual suggestion box below provides an opportunity for all law students to share questions, comments, suggestions, and/or concerns about the Law Library with anonymity. The comments submitted to the suggestion box will be reviewed at future Student Law Library Advisory Board meetings.